Discounted registration ends June 19th for convention, photo scheduled revealed

Dear AAJA photographers,
Early registration for the AAJA convention ends June 19.  www.aaja.org/…ConvRegForm_ER09_6.pdf
If you are interested in sharing a room at the hotel, there is an electronic bulletin board. www.aaja.org/program…
Here is the updated schedule for the photography portion of the AAJA convention in Boston. All photography meetings in Waterfront II room, except where noted.www.aajaphoto.org/
****
Monday, August 10 thru Saturday, August 15:
Student Project, Bernadette Tuazon, Associated Press New York photo editor, btuazon@ap.org
****
Wednesday, August 12:

1pm to 4pm: Photography Meetings
Photography and Multimedia ShootOut Meeting www.aaja.org/program…
Matt Lee, Boston Globe photographer, mjlee@globe.com
Susan Choi, Boston freelance photographer, susanchoi@datasign.c…
Vino Wong, Atlanta Constitution Journal photographer, vwong@ajc.com
Silent Photo Auction planning meeting
Corky Lee, New York freelance kzhou181@gmail.comcorky@expedi.com
One-On-One Photo Critiques – photo students bring in your work and meet one-on-one with photographers and photo editors during convention. Bring portfolio of at least 20 photos/multimedia project/resume.
Kii Sato, Associated Press Ohio photo editor, ksato@ap.org
Greg Yamamoto, Honolulu Advertiser photographer, gyamamoto@gmail.com
****

Thursday, August 13:

One-On-One Photo Critiques – photo students bring in your work and meet one-on-one with photographers and photo editors during convention. Bring portfolio of at least 20 photos/multimedia project/resume – all day

Kii Sato, Associated Press Ohio photo editor, ksato@ap.org
Greg Yamamoto, Honolulu Advertiser photographer, gyamamoto@gmail.com
This will be an all-day workshop on “Multimedia For the Visual Journalist”. Three award-winning multimedia journalists will teach this workshop. Please bring your laptop. Having  either Final Cut Pro or Final Cut Express, Soundslides, Audacity is a plus. There will be 10 Olympus digital audio recorders available. Internet will be available in room. (note: this is different than the OnLine or Multimedia group sessions. This is geared to still photographers only)
Dai Sugano, (moderator) San Jose Mercury News senior photographer, daisugano@gmail.com
Andrew DeVigal, New York Times multimedia, andrew.devigal@gmail…
Ben De La Cruz, Washington Post multimedia, bendelacruz@mac.combendelacruz@me.com

10:15am – 11:45am
Title: Self Promotion
Summary: Now that you have your stories and content and ready to show it to the world, how do you do that on the cheap. This session will expose you to the best web tools out there to get you started. Do you use a blog tool? How to best embed video and slide shows? How do you get a Web site and promote it?

1:45pm – 2:30pm
Title: Shooting video and Final Cut Pro/Express editing
Shooting tips – New gears – Show videos  – FCP and FCE Beginners to Intermediate. Getting the best of audio for your piece.

3:30pm – 5pm
Title: Final Cut Pro advanced
Using filters and stuff. Magic bullet Looks etc.. watch short films.

noon to 1:30pm:
Authors Showcase

Commonwealth Complex Room
Rick Rocamora, Oakland documentary photographer, rbrocamora@gmail.com
7:30pm
Photography Dinner off site – TBA (James Yee, Susan Choi, Matt Lee moderator)

****

Friday, August 14:

10:15am – 11:45am
Three photography students will have their photo portfolio critiqued by a panel of photo editors and photographers (names TBA). Panelists and students will be picked a few weeks before the convention.
Kii Sato, Associated Press Ohio photo editor, ksato@ap.org
Greg Yamamoto, Honolulu Advertiser photographer, gyamamoto@gmail.com

1:45pm – 2:30pm
International Photography
Chang Lee, New York Times photographer, changlee@nytimes.com
Rick Rocamora, Oakland documentary photographer, rbrocamora@gmail.com
Chang Lee, New York Times staff photographer. Lee will show his work from Beijing at the Olympics. He has also traveled to China working on environmental issues. Tsunami in Sri Lanka. Earthquake in Indonesia. Wars in both Afghanistan and Iraq.

Rick Rocamora, documentary photographer from Oakland. Rocamora has photographed heavily in his native Philippines. He also has documented El Salvador and South Africa. He was working on projects about immigrants and civil liberties including Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during WWII, Muslim-American after 9-11, and Filipino Diaspora. He has finished a book on Filipino veterans, “Second-Class Veterans”.

3pm – Photoshootout deadline www.aaja.org/program…
Matt Lee, Boston Globe mjlee@globe.com; Susan Choi susanchoi@datasign.c… Vino Wong vwong@ajc.com, Kii Sato ksato@ap.org; Greg Yamamotogyamamoto@gmail.com
3:30pm – 5pm
Campaign ‘08
The 2008 presidential campaign was the longest and most ground-breaking in history. See the campaign through the eyes of photographers who traveled with the candidates on planes and buses, from coast-to-coast, for weeks and months up to election day. See and hear the inside stories on the candidates and the media pack that followed them.

Stan Honda (moderator), Agence France-Presse- New York stanhonda@netzero.ne…stan.honda@afp.com
Panelists: Charles Dharapak, Associated Press- Washington cdharapak@ap.orgapdharapak@yahoo.com
Brian Snyder- Reuters- Boston
Kim Chapin- Boston Globe photo editor kimchapin@aol.com

5:30pm – 8pm
Silent Photo Auction
Corky Lee, freelance New York, kzhou181@gmail.comcorky@expedi.com
****
Saturday, August 15:
Photography Land & Sea Tour of Boston (Susan Choi, James Yee, Matt Lee moderator)
Photography Luncheon (Susan Choi, James Yee, Matt Lee moderator)
Gala scholarship and awards ceremony – honoring photographer Corky Lee.  www.aaja.org/feature…
****
More info,
Paul Sakuma
AAJA Photo
psakuma@aol.com
Facebook: aaja photo
Twitter: aajaphoto